Top 5 Name Brand Gluten Free Cereals

In a previous post we covered 5 delicious keto-friendly cereals. The keto diet is a little more extreme and revolves around limiting the number of carbohydrates. Today we’ll be discussing gluten-free cereals. Gluten is a protein found in grains such as wheat, barley, and rye. It’s known for causing problems for people with celiac disease, people who are gluten sensitive, and let’s be honest — people who are just plain sensitive.

Thankfully, there are many gluten-free options have made their way into the mainstream brands we all know and love. Here are 5 gluten-free cereals that you’ve definitely heard of:

Honey Nut Cheerios

 

4 years ago, Cheerios decided that it would cater to the growing trend and make their cereal gluten-free. By removing the wheat, rye, and barley grains from their oat supply, they became darlings of the gluten-free market. You’ll hardly notice the difference as honey was the ingredient that kept you coming back for more. 

However, their entire catalog is now gluten-free including Original, Multi-grain, Apple Cinnamon, and Frosted Cheerios. They must be working that little spokesperson bee of theirs to death. 

Lucky Charms

 

This one caught me by surprise too as they’re such an iconically sweet cereal. But it wasn’t much of a leap for them, the marshmallows are already gluten-free they only needed to swap out the regular oats for gluten-free ones. If you can taste the difference, you’re either lying to yourself or a have a pallet worthy of conducting scientific experiments on.  

Fruity Pebbles

 

Hearing that Fruity Pebbles are gluten-free is a lot like hearing that Oreos are vegan — you understand the words but it takes a minute for it to sink in. But it’s true, Fruity Pebbles actually never contained any gluten, these rainbow-colored treats are made from rice. No, that doesn’t mean you should throw them at weddings.  

Chex

 

While they might not be as colorful or have a cool mascot like the 3 cereals we mentioned already, Chex is every bit as gluten-free as them. They are made with whole-grain corn instead of wheat. They have a total of 7 gluten-free products: Chocolate Chex, Cinnamon Chex, Vanilla Chex, Blueberry Chex, Corn Chex, Rice Chex, and Honey Chex. Just don’t forget everything we’ve told you and accidentally grab Wheat Chex — those bad boys will raid your small intestine like Vikings in a small village.  

Honey Bunches of Oats Chocolate

Let’s give Honey Bunches of Oats some credit here, out of their extensive catalog they folded and gave us one gluten-free cereal. Yes, the chocolate version of Honey Bunches of oats is made with corn, rice, and oats as opposed to wheat. Time will tell if they succumb to the growing demand of the people. Perhaps we should pester their twitter account about it? #MakeThoseBunchesGlutenFreeOrElsePlease

  • Jan 14, 2023
  • Category: Blog
  • Comments: 0
Leave a comment